Accessibility/Mobile Features
Skip Navigation
Editorial News
Classified Sites


Baker's dozen of Manitoba books take home awards

WHILE there were no multiple winners at the 26th Manitoba Book Awards Sunday night, indigenous issues took centre stage among the list of 13 winners.

Barbara Huck's Kisiskatchewan: The Great River Road nabbed the McNally Robinson Book of the Year award at the awards, held at the West End Cultural Centre. The book, which details Orkneyman William Tomison's trials and tribulations during the 18th-century Great Plains smallpox outbreak, beat out The Constructed Mennonite by Hans Werner and Rick Chafe's The Secret Mask.

Top spot in the non-fiction category went to Indians Wear Red: Colonialism, Resistance and Aboriginal Street Gangs, by Elizabeth Comack, Lawrence Deane, Larry Morrissette and Jim Silver.

The Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book went to Breathing Life Into Stone Fort Treaty: An Anishinabe Understanding of Treaty One, by Aimée Craft.

Sarah Klassen was shut out of all three categories in which she was nominated for her novel The Wittenbergs, while the other triple nominee, Bill Wright and Dave Craig's 300 Years of Beer: An Illustrated History of Brewing in Manitoba, took home the award for best illustrated book of the year.

Winnipeg Free Press writers nabbed some hardware as well. Stuck in the Middle: Dissenting Views of Winnipeg, written by Free Press reporter Bartley Kives with photos by Bryan Scott, won the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award, while poet (and Free Press poetry columnist/haiku horoscope writer) Jonathan Ball won the John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Writer.

The rest of Sunday night's winners, presented by the Manitoba Writers' Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers:

Landsowne Prize for Poetry: Tether, by Laurelyn Whitt (Seraphim Editions)

Manuela Dias Book Design of the Year: 100 Masters: Only in Canada, by Stephen Borys with Andrew Kear, design by Frank Reimer (Winnipeg Art Gallery)

Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction: The Insistent Garden, by Rosie Chard (NeWest Press)

Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher: Manitoba Butterflies: A field guide, by Simone Hébert Allard (Turnstone Press)

McNally Robinson Book for Young People Award

  • Younger category: Powwow Counting in Cree, by Penny M. Thomas (HighWater Press)
  • Older category: The Fall, by Colleen Nelson (Great Plains Teen Fiction)

Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction: Thunder Road, by Chadwick Ginther (Turnstone Press)

  • Rate this Rate This Star Icon
  • This article has not yet been rated.
  • We want you to tell us what you think of our articles. If the story moves you, compels you to act or tells you something you didn’t know, mark it high. If you thought it was well written, do the same. If it doesn’t meet your standards, mark it accordingly.

    You can also register and/or login to the site and join the conversation by leaving a comment.

    Rate it yourself by rolling over the stars and clicking when you reach your desired rating. We want you to tell us what you think of our articles. If the story moves you, compels you to act or tells you something you didn’t know, mark it high.

Sort by: Newest to Oldest | Oldest to Newest | Most Popular 0 Commentscomment icon

You can comment on most stories on You can also agree or disagree with other comments. All you need to do is register and/or login and you can join the conversation and give your feedback.

There are no comments at the moment. Be the first to post a comment below.

Post Your Commentcomment icon

  • You have characters left

The Brandon Sun does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. Comments are moderated before publication. By submitting your comment, you agree to our Terms and Conditions. New to commenting? Check out our Frequently Asked Questions.


Make text: Larger | Smaller

Brandon Sun - Readers Choice Results
Why Not Minot?

Social Media