On Oct. 2, 1912, Archbishop S.E. Matheson ceremonially laid the cornerstone of St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, now known as St. Matthew’s Cathedral, in Brandon.
Standing at the corner of 13th Street and Louise Avenue, St. Matthew’s has been one of the city’s major landmarks ever since, receiving provincial heritage site designation in 1999.
Designed by noted Brandon architect W. A. Elliott, the church is regarded as his masterpiece.
At a time when other buildings of the same period are only memories, St. Matthew’s still stands, a visible testimony to the vision of the congregation in 1912 and over the succeeding century.
The parish is planning to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the laying of the cornerstone with two days of events.
• On Saturday from 1p.m.-3 p.m., it will welcome children of the wider community to explore the building in a cathedral treasure hunt. Ice cream and lemonade will be served, and games and activities will be set up on Louise Avenue.
• On Sunday, the church will hold a special service of thanks for the building and the parish’s ministry, with Bishop Jim Njegovan presiding. At the conclusion of the service, the congregation will gather outside on Louise Avenue, where the bishop will rededicate the cornerstone.
The service at 10:30 a.m. will be followed by a celebratory parish lunch and an open house in the cathedral, running from 1 p.m.-3 p.m.
For more information, call the Very Rev. Robin Walker at 204-727-2380.
Republished from the Brandon Sun print edition September 18, 2012