McEwen to wear Ontario colours in Canadian men’s curling championship


Advertise with us

Mike McEwen defeated Glenn Howard 8-3 to win the Ontario men's curling championship Sunday and qualify for the Tim Hortons Brier.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

We need your support!
Local journalism needs your support!

As we navigate through unprecedented times, our journalists are working harder than ever to bring you the latest local updates to keep you safe and informed.

Now, more than ever, we need your support.

Starting at $14.99 plus taxes every four weeks you can access your Brandon Sun online and full access to all content as it appears on our website.

Subscribe Now

or call circulation directly at (204) 727-0527.

Your pledge helps to ensure we provide the news that matters most to your community!

Mike McEwen defeated Glenn Howard 8-3 to win the Ontario men’s curling championship Sunday and qualify for the Tim Hortons Brier.

McEwen stole four points over the first three ends and scored another three in the fifth in Port Elgin where Howard shook hands after seven ends. McEwen has represented Manitoba in seven Canadian men’s championships during his career.

In other men’s provincial and territorial finals Sunday, Nathan Young defeated Greg Smith 8-6 to win Newfoundland and Labrador, Tyler Smith earned Prince Edward Island’s crown with a 9-5 victory over Darren Higgins, and Tanner Horgan beat Sandy MacEwan 7-5 to take Northern Ontario.

In Nova Scotia, Owen Purcell’s 8-7 win in an extra end over Matthew Manuel forced a rematch Monday to determine that provincial champion.

McEwen, Young, Smith and Horgan joined Jacques Gauthier (B.C.), Felix Asselin (Quebec), Thomas Scoffin (Yukon) and Jake Higgs (Nunavut) already qualified for the national championship March 3-12 in London, Ont.

Defending champion Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., returns as Team Canada.

Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick and the Northwest Territories hold their playdowns next month.

Three wild-card entries in the 18-team Brier field will come from the top three non-qualified teams in the Canadian Team Rankings System (CTRS) at the conclusion of provincial and territorial championships.

Alberta’s Brendan Bottcher, Manitoba’s Matt Dunstone, Gushue, Alberta’s Kevin Koe and Manitoba’s Reid Carruthers ranked first to fifth Sunday.

The Brier champion will wear the Maple Leaf in the world men’s championship April 1-9 in Ottawa.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Jan. 29, 2023.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us