E-gré finalists named


Advertise with us

The prestigious Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition named the six finalists for its 43rd edition on Tuesday.

Read this article for free:


Already have an account? Log in here »

We need your support!
Local journalism needs your support!

As we navigate through unprecedented times, our journalists are working harder than ever to bring you the latest local updates to keep you safe and informed.

Now, more than ever, we need your support.

Starting at $4.99/month you can access your Brandon Sun online and full access to all content as it appears on our website.

Subscribe Now

or call circulation directly at (204) 727-0527.

Your pledge helps to ensure we provide the news that matters most to your community!

Hey there, time traveller!
This article was published 19/02/2020 (955 days ago), so information in it may no longer be current.

The prestigious Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition named the six finalists for its 43rd edition on Tuesday.

Those six finalists are: Jillian Bonner of Saint John, N.B., Jayne Hammond of Winnipeg, Rebecca Gray of Toronto, Virginie Mongeau of Montreal, Brittany Rae of Montreal and Jennifer Routhier of Toronto.

The competition is on a three-year cycle, focusing on a different instrument each year. This year’s instrument is voice. In 2021, stringed instruments will be featured while piano will be the focus in 2022.

From April 17-19, the finalists will gather in Brandon for live recitals at the Lorne Watson Recital Hall at the Brandon University School of Music to determine the winner.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $6,000 and a cross-country recital tour, which itself will lead to $5,000 in artist fees for the winner and an accompanying pianist.

Second place will get $2,500, third place gets $1,500 and fourth, fifth and sixth places all receive $1,000. An additional prize of $1,000 will be handed out by the City of Brandon to the finalist judged to have the best performance of the annual commissioned work.

This year’s commissioned work is titled “Han Kang: Lost in Translation” by Manitoba composer Gordon Fitzell. Jurors for the final round will be Adrianne Pieczonka, Steven Philcox and Helen Pridmore.

Last year’s winner was violinist Bryn Blackwood, who also took home the City of Brandon prize.

The Eckhardt-Gramatté competition is held in honour of S.C. Eckhardt-Grammatté, a Russian-Canadian composer, violinist and pianist who received an honorary doctorate from BU in 1970. BU’s Eckhardt-Gramatté Conservatory of Music is also named after her.

Report Error Submit a Tip


Advertise With Us